UN Bienvenue aux Nations Unies. C'est votre monde. Aller à UN.ORG
Loading weather…
aA Sun Sun

Conseil économique et social
Special event to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Economic and Social Council

22 janvier 2016, New York
Top logo


Cette session a conclu

récentes réunions

Special event to commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Economic and Social Council

Film: “ECOSOC at 70”

Opening remarks

His Excellency Oh Joon, President of the Council

Mr. Jan Eliasson, Deputy Secretary-General

Keynote address

His Excellency Narendra Damodardas Modi, Prime Minister of the Republic of India (video message)

Statements by former Presidents of the Council

His Excellency Juan Somavía, Chile (1993, 1998)

His Excellency Ahmad Kamal, Pakistan (1995)

His Excellency Karel Kovanda, Czech Republic (1997)

His Excellency Gert Rosenthal, Guatemala (2003)

Her Excellency Sylvie Lucas, Luxembourg (2009)

His Excellency Miloš Koterec, Slovak Republic (2012)

Statement by Mr. Rafeeuddin Ahmed, former Council Secretary, former Chef de Cabinet of Secretary-General Kurt Waldheim, and former Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations Department of International Economic and Social Affairs

Panel discussion on “ECOSOC and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development”


Mr. Warren Hoge, Senior Advisor for External Relations, International Peace Institute


His Excellency David Donoghue, Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations and Co-facilitator, of the intergovernmental negotiations on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Mr. José Antonio Ocampo, Chair, Committee for Development Policy, and former Under-Secretary-General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs

Ms. Sarah F. Cliffe, Director, Center on International Cooperation, New York University

Mr. Rakesh Rajani, Director, Civic Engagement and Government, Ford Foundation

Mr. Ahmad Alhendawi, Envoy of the Secretary-General on Youth

Interventions by Member States and other stakeholders

Closing remarks

  • janv. 22 2016
  • 10:00 - 13:00
  • salle du Conseil économique et social